Hon'ble Governor ( Shri. Laxman Prasad Acharya)


Hon'ble Chief Minister ( Shri. P. S. Golay )



The first-ever historic elections of the Gangtok Municipal Corporation consisting of 15 wards, was held on 27th April 2010. The councilors took the oath of allegiance to their offices on 12th May 2010. Elections to the post of Mayor and Deputy Mayor were held on the same day. Shri. K.N. Topgay and Shri. Shakti Singh Choudhary were elected as the First Mayor and First Deputy Mayor of the Gangtok Municipal Corporation respectively. The first phase of the three Fs (functions, functionaries, and funds) depending on the capacity of the corporation was devolved to the corporation vide Gazette Notification No 293, dated 25th June 2010. Shri Anil Raj Rai and Shri Hem Kumar Chettri joined the Corporation in the capacity of the Chief Municipal Officer and the Deputy Municipal Officer on 03.08.2010. Thereafter, the Corporation has taken up the functions enshrined in the Gazette Notification No. 293, dated 25.6.2010.



Gangtok City Map
Swachh Bharat Abhiyan

“A clean India would be the best tribute India could pay to Mahatma Gandhi on his 150 birth anniversary in 2019,” said Shri Narendra Modi as he launched the Swachh Bharat Mission at Rajpath in New Delhi. On 2nd October 2014, Swachh Bharat Mission was launched throughout length and breadth of the country as a national movement. More...

Follow Us

Web Last Update


  • 03592-280290

Gangtok Municipal Corporation 2016| Powered by: Rumtek Technlogies